Throwing away bad dreams

Standard

Mama and I were driving home from the airplane ticket office when suddenly she pulled over and asked if I could get 2000 Rupiah (<20 cents) out of her purse. I had some money and I didn’t mind giving it to her since she had just taken me to the travel office, so I pulled a 5000 RP bill out of my own wallet and gave it to her. “No!” she said. “Just 2000.” So I gave her a 2000 RP bill instead, not knowing what she needed it for. As she took it from my hand, she said, “Javanese people don’t throw away money, they throw away bad dreams.” ” Bad dreams?” I said as she started the car again.
“Yes. Bu Nur called me earlier and told me to say a prayer and throw out 2000 rupiah because there was a bad dream.”
“Who had a bad dream?”
“Bu I’in. We do this so that our family says safe and no disaster happens.”
I still wasn’t sure I understood, so I just watched quietly as she balled up the 2000 RP bill in her hand, said a prayer out loud, and tossed it out the open window of the moving car.
“It’s not throwing it away,” she said, “because someone else will find it.”

3 thoughts on “Throwing away bad dreams

  1. Calvin did this with $1 from his allowance a few months ago, he just balled it up, threw it out the car window and said, “Today will be somebody’s lucky day!” I think I did start to say, “What are you crazy? You just throw money out the window?” but then I realized his intention was to be kind and I let it go and told him that’s great to give money away but maybe next time it may be a bit more purposeful….like when he has a bad dream

    • Haha, that’s great! So generous of him, i bet someone will really appreciate that $1 as long as they don’t think it’s just trash 🙂 that was my comcern with the 2000 rupiah, is there’s so much trash around that i hope it doesn’t just end up in a trash burn pile! 🙂

Leave a comment